Some Background

A bit about me and where I’ve come from.

Over the past two months I’ve really grown in the whole social media sphere.  I think I’ve said someplace that I became a Facebook user eon’s ago but only just recently started with Twitter.  Feel free to follow me on twitter @gallagb.  Most of my interest in Twitter & in blogging has to do with my professional image and getting my name out there.  However, I have such a passion for photography and cooking that I want to connect with people about that too.  Going back to the Student Affairs front, by publishing my photos and recipe’s, I am also tossing out there that I have a balanced approach to what I do.

Looking back further…

Before college there is one important piece of the puzzle to put out there: my family moved around a whole lot.  I was born near Chicago – lived there for 8 years.  Then I moved near San Francisco (I survived the quake of ’89).  After three years we uprooted and moved to Basel, Switzerland (I will have to do a blog post about that experience).  While in Basel I attended the local swiss school and learned to speak german fluently.  Three years later we moved back to Chicago.  I finished High School and moved to North Carolina…

While in college (and also a few years after college) I spent my summers working at an outdoor music theater near Chicago called Ravinia.  I have many stories of interacting with the public and artists alike from my days at Ravinia.  Best stories involve Yo Yo Ma or Wynton Marsalis.  But, those are for another posting… I also learned a lot about working in a customer service based position and how to train young adults to have their ‘first job.’

I graduated from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 2000.  Since then I have had several careers.  I worked first for Mothers Against Drunk Driving.  My role was to cruise around the country in a company car and talk with k-12 students about alcohol and the dangers of drinking and driving.   My secondary role with MADD was to work with small groups of students and professionals to develop grass roots prevention efforts in their local community.  Much of this work was based on the work I had done in college.  Technically, while working for MADD I had a mailing address in PA and in TX.

One summer (while still in the MADD time frame) I took the summer off to work for a circus.  I’ll just leave that there.

After 200,000 miles, I was done with MADD.  I followed a girl and moved to central Illinois.  There I got a Masters of Arts in Teaching (MAT) from Olivet Nazarene University in Bourbonnais, IL.  While there I substitute taught at Kankakee High School 4 days a week.

Once I had finished the MAT program I moved to Western Massachusetts and found a job at Linden Hill School.  LHS has about 25 students, all of them are middle school boys with language based learning differences.  My role was to be both the history teacher and a ‘valued member of the residential life program’ – aka I was a dorm parent.  I learned so much at LHS about myself as a professional, as an adult, as a person, and about students with learning differences.  I look back on my LHS experience warmly – however, I left teaching for a reason.

In 2009 I moved from Northfield, MA to Indianapolis to pursue a Masters in Higher Education and Student Affairs from Indiana University (Bloomington).  I got an assistantship at Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) in the Office of Housing and Residence Life as a Graduate Hall Director for the Residential Based Learning Communities.

That brings us to now.  I’m wrapping up my final year in the IU Masters program and launching my job search (many more postings to come on that…).

Leave a Reply

