Dreams

From Facebook:


Bre Ginty
If your dream doesn’t scare you, it isn’t big enough.
That’s pretty mind-expanding.

Wow, that’s a pretty crazy line!  Bre’s a friend of mine who lives in Vermont.
I put this quote on Twitter a few days ago.  It was interesting seeing the response.  Since then, I’ve reflected on this quote even more.

As I think many of you know, I’m neck deep in the job hunt.  I will be graduating from my Masters program in May.  Now ’tis the season to start finding a job.  I’m not too nervous about the hunt itself (maybe I should be?).  However, this quote (and Bre’s comment after it) really struck a chord with me.  Am I looking for a position that is ‘big enough’ for my dream?  Is my ‘dream’ too small? Can I go bigger?

I think dreams are very important.  Many of us get lost in the day-to-day shuffle and forget what our dreams are, what we want to do with them, and how to get them.

During a previous career of mine, I can remember talking with some professionals who were never going to change what they were doing – but spent all day every day talking about wanting something different.  They had the vision of the dream, but not enough gumption to go and attempt the dream.

I think all of us get that way sometimes.  I think all of us loose sight of our dreams and forget that we want to go after them — we get all bogged down and just loose it.

Take a moment to fill out this ‘Dreams work-sheet’:

  1. Name:
  2. When you were 5 years old, what did you want to be when you grew up?
  3. Why have you not done that?
  4. What is one place in the world you want to visit?
  5. Why is it not on your calendar yet?
  6. What is one hobby you love?
  7. When are you working on it?
  8. Who else knows the answer to # 2, 4, &  6?

Challenge:
Go tell 3 people the answers # 2, 4, & 6.
Go live your dream, or at least part of them.

Then make bigger dreams & live those.

Leave a Reply

