Providing Feedback on Blogs

As student affairs professionals, we are pretty good at providing good, honest, and timely feedback to the students (and other professionals) that we work with.  This is great.

On Twitter, I’ve found an enormous support network.  Lots of wonderful people who follow me who are willing to take a moment to affirm my concerns, answer my questions, dole out their opinions, or support me in my struggles.  I love this.

Why doesn’t that translate to blogs?

I admit, I’ve been just as guilty as the next person.  But, I wonder why it is that people don’t post feedback/comments on blogs?  I love having my blog ‘re-tweeted’ in twitter, but I love it even more when people post comments!

I want to engage my readers in a discussion.  I want to find out what you agree with or disagree with in my posts!  I want you to challenge me to think about things in new ways – or challenge what I’m saying.

There have been a few comments like this that have been amazing – and I thanked those people.  I’d love to thank you as well!

My challenge – let’s all work together to provide feedback for the various blogs that we read.  Even if we just say ‘huh, that’s neat’ – let’s do it!

8 responses to “Providing Feedback on Blogs

  1. Shawn Brackett

    I accept your challenge, Brian! 🙂

  2. MarcQus Wright

    Brian, I agree with you. The same happens with my blog, people like my posts on facebook and will often retweet them. There is nothing like getting feedback directly to your blog. Great post!

  3. I think a big reason I don’t post a lot of comments on blogs is they don’t make me question anything, sure they may be great to read but if it doesn’t raise a question within me I don’t post a comment. You can say I should give positive reinforcement but that is something I am selective in, if I think something is truly awesome I will say it, and work on doing this with students more frequently. It is something I should probably work on with my peers but currently I am not very good at fulfilling my cheerleading duties.

    • That makes sense- so, maybe the challenge back to me (and other writers) is to really challenge you to think. While it is great if you agree (being the cheerleader – which is not what i’m looking for as much) – it is better if I can get you to want to respond or raise a question that you want to answer. Thanks 🙂

  4. this is a really good point – the place I get a bit lost on this is that what is my motivation for seeking feedback. Is it because I’m a Significance and like that or is it that comments help keep the dialogue going and keep it fresh. I think it’s closer to door #2, but there is a bit of door #1 in there 🙂

    • Torry- I think you raise a great point. What’s my motivation in the above posting at all. It’s not to get attention for me.

      Actually, I’ve been reading other people’s blogs a lot lately & wondering why we don’t ever leave comments- instead we just re-tweet the blogs.

      I think I’m looking for two things-
      One is similar to the ‘cheerleader’ bit that Dillon mentioned.
      Two- is more along the lines of engaging with the reader – vs telling the reader how it is. So, I want someone to say “hang on Brian, what you said there- yea, that won’t work at our school and here’s why”

  5. I often wonder if the work I put in for the Daily Dose is in vain, because I never know if people read it or not. I feel the same about blogs (when I actually write them). I try to comment occasionally, but at the same time, I don’t want to just put “yes!” as a blog comment…

  6. I’ve been blogging since 2004 and if you blog with the idea that comments will be consistent, you’re probably going to be disappointed. I have over 3,300 comments on my personal site and quite a few on my Inside Higher Ed blog, but I know that comments are hit or miss depending on the post, the time of day, and the lovely randomness of the blogosphere.

Leave a Reply

