In which Brian returns to blogging….

Hello long-lost blog readers!

Wow! New job + Sweetie moved in with me = new experiences = new time commitments = new prioritizing = not blogging as much!

However, there are great things to share and many ideas that need development and discussion!

I’d like to first start out by saying that I’m totally amazed with how awesome the #SAYR1 initiative is & has taken off.  For those who missed this story, here’s the skinny: this is an effort for first year student affairs professionals to link up in small ‘care groups’ across different college campuses.  The idea is as first year professionals, we need ways to support ourselves, encourage ourselves, and link up  at a peer to peer level.  One thought is that many of us had something similar in our co-horts in our Grad programs.  Others of us didn’t have this.  Another way to think about this is these small groups can possibly be excellent places to share positive experiences, have someone who has nothing to do with our job performance who can have critical conversations with us, help us to vent during rough days…etc.  It’s a really neat idea.  If you have not signed up yet (and are interested).  Here’s the link to the spread sheet where you can sign yourself up.

Moving past #SAYR1, reflecting upon all of the tweets and several blogs that I wrote about moving in with my sweetie…. It has been a delightful process.  We are growing in our relationship on a daily basis – which is fantastic.  There are highs & lows- but, that’s to be expected.

A lot of my time since my July 1 start date has been learning & setting my team up for success.  I’m fortunate to be part of a great team of other housing professionals.  I’m looking forward to continuing to connect with them & continuing to move my building forward in positive directions.

I’ve completely given up on the 52/52 book challenge.  I managed to read 28 books before I fizzled out.  I think it is the combination of the two big life-changing events that have happened for me (sweetie moving back in & new full time job).  I really enjoyed most of the 28 books I read, but I will not succeed in the 52/52 challenge.  Since the fizzle, I have continued to read – lots of great stuff! One notable title: The iConnected Parent: Staying Close to Your Kids in College (and Beyond) While Letting Them Grow Up by Barbara K. Hofer & Abigial Sullivan Moore (I will blog about this for sure!)

Anyhow, look for more posts soon!

3 responses to “In which Brian returns to blogging….

  1. I’m glad you are back to blogging!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Glad to see you back in the bloggersphere! Looking forward to more posts.

Leave a Reply

